Say You’ll Remember Me by Katie McGarry | Review

35133826.jpg

| Book Depository | Booktopia | Amazon |


Rating: ★★★★☆

Release Date: January 30th, 2018

Trigger Warnings: neglectful parents, drugs, alcohol, violence, abuse (parental & relationship), death of animal

Pages: 400

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Goodreads blurb:

When Drix was convicted of a crime–one he didn’t commit–he thought his life was over. But opportunity came with the new Second Chance Program, the governor’s newest pet project to get delinquents off the streets, rehabilitated and back into society. Drix knows this is his chance to get his life back on track, even if it means being paraded in front of reporters for a while.

Elle knows she lives a life of privilege. As the governor’s daughter, she can open doors with her name alone. But the expectations and pressure to be someone she isn’t may be too much to handle. She wants to follow her own path, whatever that means.

When Drix and Elle meet, their connection is immediate, but so are their problems. Drix is not the type of boy Elle’s parents have in mind for her, and Elle is not the kind of girl who can understand Drix’s messy life.

But sometimes love can breach all barriers.

Fighting against a society that can’t imagine them together, Drix and Elle must push themselves–Drix to confront the truth of the robbery, and Elle to assert her independence–and each other to finally get what they deserve.

Read More »

Advertisements

Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios | Review

29102896.jpg

Book Depository | Booktopia | Amazon |


Rating: ★★★☆☆

Release Date: June 13th, 2017

Trigger Warnings: emotional cheating, OCD, girl hate, suicide attempts, threats, depression, rape, sexual assault, abuse (emotional)

Pages: 368

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. 

Goodreads blurb:

Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone.

Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it’s too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she’s unable to escape.

Deeply affecting and unflinchingly honest, this is a story about spiraling into darkness—and emerging into the light again. 

Read More »

Keep Her Safe by K.A Tucker | Review

30753733.jpg

| Book Depository | Booktopia | Amazon |


Rating: ☆☆☆

Release Date: January 23rd, 2018

Trigger Warnings: dead parents, suicide, addiction, alcoholism, sex trafficking

Pages: 448

Publisher: Atria Books

Goodreads blurb:

Making a Murderer meets Scandal in this story of police corruption, family secrets, and illicit affairs from bestselling author K.A. Tucker, celebrated for her “propulsive plot twists and searing seduction” (USA TODAY).

Noah Marshall has known a privileged and comfortable life thanks to his mother, the highly decorated chief of the Austin Police Department. But all that changes the night she reveals a skeleton that’s been rattling in her closet for years, and succumbs to the guilt of destroying an innocent family’s life. Reeling with grief, Noah is forced to carry the burden of this shocking secret.

Gracie Richards wasn’t born in a trailer park, but after fourteen years of learning how to survive in The Hollow, it’s all she knows anymore. At least here people don’t care that her dad was a corrupt Austin cop, murdered in a drug deal gone wrong. Here, she and her mother are just another family struggling to survive…until a man who clearly doesn’t belong shows up on her doorstep.

Despite their differences, Noah and Gracie are searching for answers to the same questions, and together, they set out to uncover the truth about the Austin Police Department’s dark and messy past. But the scandal that emerges is bigger than they bargained for, and goes far higher up than they ever imagined.

Complex, gritty, sexy, and thrilling, Keep Her Safe solidifies K.A. Tucker’s reputation as one of today’s most talented new voices in romantic suspense 

Read More »

Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed | Reviews

31207017.jpg

| Book Depository | Booktopia | Amazon |


Rating: ★★★★☆

Release Date: January 16th, 2018

Trigger Warnings: islamophobia, terrorism, white supremacy mentions, bullying

Pages: 281

Publisher: SoHo Teen

Goodreads blurb:

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

American-born seventeen-year-old Maya Aziz is torn between worlds. There’s the proper one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter: attending a college close to their suburban Chicago home, and being paired off with an older Muslim boy her mom deems “suitable.” And then there is the world of her dreams: going to film school and living in New York City—and maybe (just maybe) pursuing a boy she’s known from afar since grade school, a boy who’s finally falling into her orbit at school.

There’s also the real world, beyond Maya’s control. In the aftermath of a horrific crime perpetrated hundreds of miles away, her life is turned upside down. The community she’s known since birth becomes unrecognizable; neighbors and classmates alike are consumed with fear, bigotry, and hatred. Ultimately, Maya must find the strength within to determine where she truly belongs.

Read More »

Every Heart A Doorway by Seanan McGuire | Review

25526296.jpg

Book Depository | Booktopia | Amazon |


Rating: ★★★☆☆

Trigger Warnings: Transphobia, murder, displacement

Release Date: April 5th, 2016

Pages: 173

Publisher: Tor.com 

Goodreads blurb:

Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children
No Solicitations
No Visitors
No Quests

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere… else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced… they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

No matter the cost.

Read More »

Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh | Review

29906017.jpg

Book Depository | Booktopia | Amazon |


Rating: ★★★★☆

Release Date: January 23rd, 2018

Trigger Warnings: murder, grief, addiction

Pages: 384

Publisher: Razorbill

Goodreads blurb:

Odessa is one of Karthia’s master necromancers, catering to the kingdom’s ruling Dead. Whenever a noble dies, it’s Odessa’s job to raise them by retrieving their souls from a dreamy and dangerous shadow world called the Deadlands. But there is a cost to being raised–the Dead must remain shrouded, or risk transforming into zombie-like monsters known as Shades. If even a hint of flesh is exposed, the grotesque transformation will begin.

A dramatic uptick in Shade attacks raises suspicions and fears among Odessa’s necromancer community. Soon a crushing loss of one of their own reveals a disturbing conspiracy: someone is intentionally creating Shades by tearing shrouds from the Dead–and training them to attack. Odessa is faced with a terrifying question: What if her necromancer’s magic is the weapon that brings Karthia to its knees?

Read More »

Goodbye, Perfect by Sara Barnard | Review

Goodbye, Perfect Blog Tour Banner


Thank you to MacMillian Australia for sending me an ARC in exchange for honest review. 

35495848

Book Depository | Booktopia |


Rating: ★★★☆☆

Release Date: February 8th, 2018

Trigger Warnings: abuse, neglect, parental abuse (off page but implied), dead parents

Pages: 384

Publisher: Macmillian Children’s Books

Goodreads Review: here

Goodreads blurb:

When I was wild, you were steady . . . 
Now you are wild – what am I? 

Eden McKinley knows she can’t count on much in this world, but she can depend on Bonnie, her solid, steady, straight-A best friend. So it’s a bit of a surprise when Bonnie runs away with the boyfriend Eden knows nothing about five days before the start of their GCSEs. Especially when the police arrive on her doorstep and Eden finds out that the boyfriend is actually their music teacher, Mr Cohn.

Sworn to secrecy and bound by loyalty, only Eden knows Bonnie’s location, and that’s the way it has to stay. There’s no way she’s betraying her best friend. Not even when she’s faced with police questioning, suspicious parents and her own growing doubts.

As the days pass and things begin to unravel, Eden is forced to question everything she thought she knew about the world, her best friend and herself.

Read More »