All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven| Review

Rating: 1/5 STAR

Pages: 378 Pages

Release Date: 6th Janurary 2015

Goodreads Review: here

Goodreads Blurb:

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.
 
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

This review is basically the exact same as my Goodreads one, I felt it was perfect for my opinions.

TRIGGER WARNINGS: abuse, depression, in depth descriptions of suicide, suicide, death, anxiety

I went in knowing I’d hate this. I know it romanticises depression and suicide. I know these characters were nothing but their personality but I wanted to personally know. Also, a bunch of people in this Facebook group I’m in kept recommending this and I wanted a leg to stand on when I say “hey this book is actually really problematic, stop recommending it”. I have since done this around eight times and can’t help but express my utter disgust at this book.

I shouldn’t have wasted my time. It got to the stage my eyes were moving across the page but words? They weren’t there. I took notes while reading but it became tedious at 15% purely because I was taking a note every. single. page. That’s right folks, that’s how bad this book is.

Because characters who are only the textbook version of their mental illness make sense! What’s a personality? No clue, it’s surrounded by stupid behaviour and stereotypes. Shove your quirky, mental health stereotype up your ass.

So, I can’t comment on everything but for this amount of notes to be taken in such a short snippet of this book? Not good.

Honestly, I wish I could display just have much I was ripping my hair out reading this. Almost every single thing that is included is cheap and not at all well done.

A collection of my thoughts while reading it:
– “Is today a good day to die?”
– Honestly what the fuck
– hate at first sentence
– they’re so obnoxious kill me
“Behind the ugly glasses she’s pretty, almost like a china doll.”
– ^ just going to leave that there because i don’t think it deserves a sarcastic comment because of how dumb it is
– 3% in and it feels as though it’s making comedy out of depression
– like yo i have depression, have had it for as long as i remember so i feel i can comment on the fact this is terrible representation in just the first chapter
– ok it literally say it’s started to rain and our the male mc decides to state that again??? that’s sloppy
– please stop describing her eyes @ 5%
“She’s pretty and tall, but not too tall, with long, restless legs and curvy hips, which I like on a girl. Too many high school girls are built like boys.”
“semihot girls”
let’s comment on girls appearances every other page because i’m a piece of shit
– still @ 5%, even angrier now
– how is this good rep in anyway
– this is complete and utter mockery of good rep
– i want to punch everyone who says this is good rep
– terrible counsellors? wow great let’s tell kids that adults aren’t here to help
– counsellor lists people who would be upset if he died, Finch is stuck on multiple girlfriends
– what a literal piece of shit
– he’s obsessed with Violet after chapter one i’m going to puke
– so much telling rather than showing, it’s frustrating
– punishment equals bangs? jesus this book is a mess
– these counsellors are terrible
– Finch is honestly a pompous asshole
– Violet is bearable despite her lack of personality
– i can’t stand judgemental characters???
– how many stereotypes are shoved into this book
– the answer?
all of them
– Finch is honestly a pig, which is an insult to pigs
– “Faggot” is used as an insult
– why is everything sexualised???
– so edgy!! so cool!!! turntables!!! vintage!!! hipster!!! w!!! o!!! a!!! h!!!
– SMOKING SO COOL
“even though i’m not much into eating” ??????
– these characters are so dumb i want to strangle them
– literally no one this age talks like this
– ahhh, that my friends is the smell of sweet, sweet slut shaming
– there’s seriously so much focus on people’s eyes, it’s weird
– these kids are so ungrateful
– *boy starts facebook page just to talk to you* this is not romantic
– 16% invites himself over to her house late at night & she gives in and just says yes after saying no?????? super romantic!!! WHY IS THIS OKAY?????
– I hate everyone

In short. There are better books out there. A List of Cages. Under Rose Tainted Skies. Eliza and Her Monsters. There are books out there that paint realistic views on mental health. This is definitely not one of them. This book is disgusting. Not only the way it shames women but the way it romanticises suicide and depression.

I’ve honestly never been so revolted by a book. Truly. If I see people recommending this they’re about to be blocked/unfollowed/unfriended/punched because no. I honestly feel dumb after reading this – something that only happened when I read Caraval.

I also want to say how Finch is not a boy you should want to date. He’s just straight up creepy. You made a Facebook to talk to me and invite yourself to my house basically instantly? Yeah, I think no.

This book is not good. This book is terrible. This book should be banned. Having depression isn’t being quirky or different. Having depression also isn’t who you are entirely. No one ever knows I have depression, unless I tell them. I know I’ve recovered, however I still have bad days. This book doesn’t paint any of this in a realistic light.

I have experienced almost every trigger warning this book features, and I’m telling you, as a person who struggled through 3/6 of the triggers, this book is a piece of shit.

Not only that, but the end is a complete cop out. Almost every idea is stolen from other books. The Fault In Our Stars. Perks of Being a Wallflower. Looking for Alaska. 13 Reasons Why. All books I hated.

Actually, more on the fact this is similar to 13 Reasons Why – suicide is literally used as the entire plot and then proceeded to be used as a twist. I can’t stand that. Disgusted.

My tip for you if you love this piece of shit book:

Find a better novel to promote as your mental health awareness book.

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven| Review

  1. I’m curious what you would make if Terminal Regression by Mallory Hill – I loved it because I related to the lead (depression, suicidal ideation) and thought the way the author portrayed mental illness was very realistic and there wasn’t a trite, ‘twu luv cures all’ message.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s