tags

Unpopular Opinion Tag

I was tagged by Liza over at DuskAngelReads to do the unpopular book tag and let me just say I'm a little excited. I love unpopular opinions. You can find the original tag over here on YouTube.

Let's just jump in because I have many unpopular opinions I would love to share with you all.


A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES THAT YOU DIDN’T LIKE

This one is definitely not a shock if you've read my review, you would know I think this is probably the worst book to ever exist. I'm not ashamed of it. I also had to choose this since I am still completely confused as to why it holds a 4.2 average on Goodreads.

A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES THAT EVERYONE ELSE SEEMS TO HATE BUT YOU LOVE

Look, I know this book is trash. I know it has some terrible themes but it is such a guilty pleasure. Whenever I see someone trashing it I can't help but I laugh. I mean, I even enjoyed the spin off stories (maybe even more than the originals).

 A LOVE TRIANGLE WHERE THE MAIN CHARACTER ENDED UP WITH THE PERSON YOU DID NOT WANT THEM TO END UP WITH (WARN PPL FOR SPOILERS) OR AN OTP THAT YOU DON’T LIKE

I don't think this is spoilers considering that everyone has either seen the movies or read the book, but I didn't like Peeta. I thought he was incredibly weird and he rubbed me the wrong way. It's not even that I liked Gale. I just wanted Katniss to be with her sister, repair her relationship with her mum and maybe rule the world. Definitely a series I think would have been better without the romance.

A POPULAR BOOK GENRE THAT YOU HARDLY REACH FOR

I am a pretty well-rounded reader, but lately, I have had no urge to reach for New Adult or any form of trashy romance book. A few years ago New Adult and Romance were the only genres I would read. I thought I was so mature because I was 17 and reading them. Gag. Now I instantly gravitate towards a contemporary (hopefully light on the romance) or want to jump from fantasy world to fantasy world.

A POPULAR OR BELOVED CHARACTER THAT YOU DO NOT LIKE

Noah Shaw. I can't even talk about this book without getting mad, so check out my review.

A POPULAR AUTHOR THAT YOU CAN’T SEEM TO GET INTO

Stephanie Garber. I know Caraval was her debut novel but after the mess it was, I will not be reading any more of her work. For more of my thoughts, find my review here.

A POPULAR BOOK TROPE THAT YOU’RE TIRED OF SEEING. (EXAMPLES “LOST PRINCESS”, CORRUPT RULER, LOVE TRIANGLES, ETC.)

Oh boy. I'm a fan of tropes, personally, if they're done right. It gets boring when you've read the same book eight times in a row by separate authors.

My least favourite, currently, is authors including twists that have no relavancy being in the text. I am simply tired of the trope that is authors taking cheap shots in order for a reaction.

Though for another trope I hate that is more common in text, love curing you from whatever mental illness you are surviving through. I believed this and it was incredibly damaging when I found myself in a relationship that only damaged my menatl health.

A POPULAR SERIES THAT YOU HAVE NO INTEREST IN READING

9780147511683.jpeg

After having the final book spoiled, I have no interest in this series. So, shout out to that one asshole on Goodreads for spoiling a series I really wanted to read.

THE SAYING GOES “THE BOOK IS ALWAYS BETTER THAN THE MOVIE”, BUT WHAT MOVIE OR T.V. SHOW ADAPTATION DO YOU PREFER MORE THAN THE BOOK?

I read both of these books and found them terrible. I was bored and wanted to DNF them both, however, this was before I became the serial DNF'er I am today. The films of both I did enjoy though. For The Maze Runner film, it could have just been staring at Dylan O'Brien for an hour and a half.


And, that's it! One book I didn't mention anywhere is Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgens, but I really wish I had since it is one of my least favourite books in existence. Damn past Amber.

I'm not really sure how to tag people, I'm a WordPress newbie, so I tag everyone who read this far in my post! Have fun. Can't wait to read your unpopular opinions.  ♡

11 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinion Tag

Leave a Reply

