reviews

Before She Ignites by Jodi Meadows | ARC REVIEW

Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Release Date: 12th of September 2017.

Pages: 400

Goodreads Review: here

I kindly received an ARC, which I’m beyond thankful for, but all thoughts and opinions remain my own.

TRIGGERS: anxiety attacks and parental neglect/manipulation (?)


P R E A M B LE 

Ah, welcome back to “Amber the serial DNF’er”. I went into this with high expectations. I have just recently started watching Game of Thrones so the idea of dragon trafficking was right up my alley. However, around 40% in I had only encountered one dragon. Only one.

For an accurate representation of me reading this book have this gif:

To further my disdain of this book, it seemed to reflect others. I know that Idris and Silent Brothers are universal terms but being the massive Shadowhunters fan I am it rubbed me the wrong way. It wasn’t that they were included in general, but that the names really had no point. The Silent Brothers themselves were an unnecessary information that never really got explained.

The other novel that Before She Ignites reminded me of was Shatter Me, a book I unfortunately hated. Our main character likes to obsessively make lists that really don’t add a single thing to the plot (what plot?), it reminded me of Juliette crossing things out throughout Shatter Me.


C H A R A C T E R S 

#M I R A   M I N B O K A

I would like to add Mira Minboka to the list of characters I despise. She is yet another bland female character who simply cares about her beauty. Now, that may seem like I’m exaggerating. I promise, I’m not. Almost every other page we are reminded that Mira is beautiful, but oh that isn’t helpful in the pit.

Let’s also not forget the fact, Mira can’t do anything. She is comparing herself to basically everyone she meets and tears down her younger sister any time she gets. Not that we actually meet any characters besides the big mean prison guard who’s name I have forgotten.

Not only that, but Mira does not want to give a single bit of information to anything. Not even you as the reader. I couldn’t believe it. It’s not as if the writing style, which uses “before” and “after” chapters, helps. Barely anything is given away and almost every character that is featured throughout is one dimensional. I truly don’t think I’ve ever been so bored.

Also, one useless tidbit that annoyed me, Mira is in The Pit, right? Meant to be the worst jail on the Isles blah, blah, blah. You know what she’s worried about? Wrapping her hair at night. She even makes a friend who cuts up the dress she came in so they can both wrap their hair in silk when they sleep. That is truly around three chapters of information right there.

I would write about other characters included but there aren’t any worth mentioning. They’re all just as bland as the main character and do absolutely nothing to the plot line. They further nothing. Except one of the best friends rejected the main character? Boo-freaking-hoo.


P L O T 

What plot? That’s my question. I was promised dragons and dragon trafficking, but what did I get? A whiny girl in a pit. That’s it. A whiny girl in a pit doing mundane activities for a crime she didn’t commit for over 40% of this book. I’m sure that continues too since she has no drive or initiative to do absolutely anything.

From the few other negative reviews that sit on this book currently, it doesn’t seem the plot improves. Mira continues her complaining and absolute hopelessness.


O V E R A L L 

What a waste of such a beautiful cover. I wanted this to be so much more. I wanted there to be a prison escape before 40%, I wanted dragons to eat people and I wanted a description of some kind of murder. What I got was none of that. Just a whiny, spoilt, special snowflake who can’t do a single thing for herself.

I will attempt this book again once it has been released in September, I really hope these issues get sorted because this has so much potential.

Really, a note to the author, add more dragons. Would have made this book so much better.

2 thoughts on “Before She Ignites by Jodi Meadows | ARC REVIEW

Leave a Reply

