get to know me

Books I Probably Won’t Read

 

Wow, that title. I'm probably about to spread shade on one of your favourites. Am I ashamed? No. These are books that hold little interest to me, or just simply aren't worth my time from the reviews I have read.


Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven

Goodreads: here

I think this one is pretty easy to work out why I wouldn't touch it with a ten-foot pole. "Author of All The Bright Places" aka the one book that should have never gotten a movie but somehow did. This is 13 Reasons Why all over again.

My best friend did actually put herself through the pain and torture of this book, messaging me quotes and making my whole body light up with rage. For her review click here.

 


The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Goodreads: here

This one is just here because some asshole spoiled me. So, let's move on because I'm still trying to find their Goodreads profile so I can slam them with the anger I kept in when it happened.

 

 

 

 

 


Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab

Goodreads: here

Wait for it, there's a real trend here. I was spoiled for this as well. Yep.

I  mean, Victoria Schwab and I do not have a great author/reader relationship. I just can't get absorbed into her worlds like everyone else and it makes me mad. I love being able to get involved with the hype, but Victoria and I are just never going to work.

 

 

 


A Conjuring of Light by V.E Schwab

Goodreads: here

I don't think I have to say too much about this one. I desperately wanted to be a fan of this series. I didn't mind the first book, gave it three stars, but I completely DNF'ed the second one. I even sold the two books I had. I just can't with character driven plots.

 

 

 


 

Reboot by Amy Tintera

Goodreads: here

Now, I have actual beef with Amy Tintera. I was a massive fan of her Avenged series. Adored her writing and was excited to get onto this series. I even posted on Instagram expressing my love, all excited and tagged her. Now in this post, I mentioned briefly that the second book was a tad boring for me but I was so excited for the final book in the series. Amy seemed to take this as an attack and subtweeted about me. Since then, I've basically decided I will not support a petty, immature author who thinks tha

 

t is okay. I was beyond thankful she isn't that popular as an author because only one of her fans bothered to come comment on my post. But for three days my anxiety was off the scales in fear. So, here I am boycotting anything she writes.

The tweet in mention.

The Instagram post in mention.


 Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat

Goodreads: here

From what I've heard, this just isn't the book for me. I'm staying far, far, far away. Purely because of the fact the fan base for this series is so large they scare me. I mean, I read this review and just decided I would never pick this book up. I'd say sorry if you love this book, but I'm really not.

 

 

 

 


The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Goodreads: here

I actually read the first book. That's why this is here. I hated the first book. It was a trope filled mess that I know I would have loved when I was 13. However, at 19 it was just an annoyance and made me want to punch someone. I will 110% not be continuing with this series.

 

 

 


This list could honestly go on for another thousand words but I figure I should stop before everyone comes at me with pitch forks blazing.
Noteable mentions: Carve The Mark by Veronica Roth, anything by the duo Erin Watt, The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley, Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire, Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L James, Girl Online by Zoella and anything written by Abbi Glines.

What's a book that you probably won't read?

 

 

12 thoughts on “Books I Probably Won’t Read

  1. I have read Captive Prince. It was recommended to me. I didn’t hate it per se. I have read the The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty by Anne Rice so I’ve read some pretty messed up stuff. I think what bothered me about Captive Prince was the slow burn romance. It was soooooo damn sloooooow.

    I tend to avoid really hyped up series until the hype dies down so I will probably avoid most of the books on this list as well.

    Sorry that the author subtweeted you like that. Seriously petty af. I can’t stand it when authors do that.

    Excellent post though! I like the idea of this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, that just makes me want to avoid it more ahaha. I’m not a fan of slow books in the slightest!

      I completely get that. I usually like to be apart of the hype but if there varying opinions I usually prefer to stay away in fear of the masses approaching with the “you don’t get it!!!!” comments.

      Thank you, but you have no reason to be sorry! Was completely inappropriate on her behalf and I’m not sure what she was hoping to gain from it. I’m just glad I can laugh about it now.

      Thank you so much! Feel free to give it a go, I’d love to see what books you aren’t interested in reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. wow, “our dark duet” and “a conjuring of light”. i personally loved these books! but i also get, why people don’t and that they are also hard to get into it.
    for me it’s hard to admit, that i don’t like hyped and popular books. and i don’t know why. everyone is different and everyone has different taste.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think my main problem is I prefer plot based narratives?? I completely get why everyone loves them though, they seem incredible but just not for me.
      the book community can be a tad scary when you don’t love a popular book, but you’re so right. the differing opinions is what makes reviews important, in my opinion.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. yes, i agree! you should be able to say what you didn’t like. and if there is someone who reads this and is similar to you, he or she might feel the same and know, that’s not a book for them.
        i mostly have a problem, because i am very character driven but i also enjoy plot based narratives πŸ˜‚ there are not soooo many books i do not like haha

        Like

  3. There’s quite a few books I most likely won’t read that people are hyping about – I don’t go out of my way to read romances unless there’s something else about the plot that interests me so I probably won’t bother with a lot of the f/f or m/m romances that people are obsessed with at the moment. It’s a shame because I try to read diversely but I’m not going to pick up a romance JUST because it’s about a gay couple *shrugs*

    Like

  4. I’ve read a handful of these books, which is sad to see because I genuinely liked some of them! I do understand why you choose not to read them though because I myself have a list of books that I won’t bother picking up.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A few of these are on my TBR but I love this post anyways because I am so tired of watching people worship Jennifer Nivens’ books when they are so awful. Well, I haven’t read HUTU. I don’t need to. I own a copy of it that I’ve been meaning to post on twitter’s books for trade but I’ve been too lazy to do it, but I hated ATBP too much to fathom reading anything else by her. I didn’t know it was getting a film and I am cringing so hard.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

