reviews

Roar by Cora Cormack | Review

Rating: ★★★☆☆

Release Date: June 13th 2017.

Pages: 380

Goodreads Review: here

Goodreads blurb:

In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.

Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage.

She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough.

Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.


W A R N I N G

This review reads more like a rant. You’ve been warned.


P R E R A M B L E

Roar was a book I went into with major low expectations. My best friend had loved it but I had seen it floating around Twitter and being labelled as problematic. I wasn’t sure I wanted to read that. But, I found myself without anything to read and the cover reminded me of Game of Thrones, a show I have recently become obsessed with, so I picked it up.

Here’s the thing:

I enjoyed it.

 This isn’t to say it isn’t problematic. Honestly, what book isn’t these days? This is simply me saying I enjoyed it. It was cliché. It was kind of slow. Absolutely nothing happened. The world building was terrible. Somehow I managed to enjoy it.

I think my biggest problem with this text was that there were no dragons.

I’m kidding.

Kind of.

But, no, my biggest problem was the lack of world building. We’re suddenly and abruptly thrown into the world and barely given anything to go by. I’ve finished the book and to be honest, I’m still not 100% sure what kind of world this was.

Actually, now that I think about it, I did have another problem. The first two chapters. I have never read something so terrible in my life. The dialogue was terrible and I wanted to put the book down so bad to avoid the cringefest I was encountering. Cassius and Aurora were two characters that seemed co-dependent and I am not about that lifestyle.

Apart from that, I really did enjoy this book. I can see why others hated it but this is exactly what I needed for the time I read it.


C H A R A C T E R S  

#A U R O R A

I had a lowkey problem with Aurora as soon as I started this book. It was mainly that I hate her name. One girl I can’t stand has this name and she’s ruined it for everyone else. I also didn’t enjoy Aurora as a character. She was pretty useless, honestly. I worked out her big special snowflake power before everyone else too and honestly I rolled my eyes. Hard.

#L O C K E

He was really far up Aurora’s ass. He basically meets her, thinks she’s like his sister (incest???) and falls madly and deeply in love. I felt some chemistry between the two of them, but not to the point where they should be declaring love by the end of the book (spoiler, they were). I really don’t think he had a personality; he was pretty unintelligent (says the one who took six tries to spell that word, someone save me form myself) as well.

#C A S S I U S

I got nothing on this guy. He was straight up creepy and basically Joffrey Lannister in my mind.

#J I N X, R A N S O M, D U K E, B A I T, S L Y & N O V A Y A

These are all characters we learn about one page of knowledge about but I want more. They’re the side characters that, ultimately, are used as props to make Locke and Aurora better people. I mean that in the way that they suffer the consequences of every dumb decision the pair make. Justice for these characters in the sequel.


P L O T

 I don’t have much to say in this section of my review. Why? There honestly is no plot. I wish I was kidding. Nothing happens the whole book. There are some “scary” events but literally, nothing happens bar the princess running away. Big whoop. Pick up 80% of fantasy and you’ll get the same plot line.

There’s also a romance that I still don’t really care for, I guess that’s the main plot. Bar the whole kingdom takeover that we got about two chapters of?


O V E R A L L

Reading all that and scrolling back up to my rating of three stars would be confusing, right? I can’t explain my rating. This book is pretty trash, I’ll be honest. I enjoyed it though. It definitely won’t end up on my recommended list but I will read the sequel.

What I want in the sequel? More dragons and less Aurora. What will I probably get? Zero dragons and too much Aurora.

Also, very quick side bar, but how gorgeous is this cover?!

7 thoughts on “Roar by Cora Cormack | Review

  1. I haven’t read this, but after seeing mixed reviews I don’t think I will be. Too many better books out there to settle for something I’m 90% sure I’ll 2-star. It’s disappointing that it has such a beautiful cover and interesting world, but the characters and plot sound so blah.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

