get to know me

Underrated Books

 

I personally read a range of popular books. It's nothing against older books or underrated reads, it's simply that a lot of time they are cheaper. I wish my local library could help but they are currently on the verge of shutting down and have a very small young adult selection as it is.

This doesn't mean I haven't read a few underrated books that I personally believe deserve more hype than they receive.

Some of these books feature triggers, I won't be mentioning in this review but I've linked their Goodreads profile so you can have a peruse over reviews and description.


Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin.

Goodreads: here

I say Wolf by Wolf because around 10 people on my Goodreads have read it. A pretty astronomically small number when over 99% of my friends have read A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas.

I'm personally not a fan of historical fiction books, I get caught up in the world and pissed that woman aren't treated well. What I was a fan of though in high school was World War Two. I studied Nazi Germany in depth for my final exams. That was the time I picked up Wolf by Wolf and wow. Just imagine the world if Hitler had won the war. Well, imagine no more because that is what Wolf by Wolf is.


Not Your Sidekick by C.B. Lee

Goodreads: here

Now, this is a book I have maybe seen five people on all my social media platforms has read. It is also a book I have been recommending non-stop since I have read it. From what I've read, it is fantastic representation. The diversity featured is great.

Not only that, though, the plot is fabulous. It's a little predictable, but it is without a doubt adorable. Jess and Abby are two characters I love beyond words, as well.

Fun fact, too, this was actually the first relationship I've ever read between two females.


How To Make A Wish by Ashley Herring Blake

Goodreads: here

How To Make A Wish was a book that shocked me beyond belief. It was such a beautiful tale that touched me beyond belief. It was a story that replicated instances in my life I never expected to see in fiction. I won't get into those because unlike some scenarios in my life, I like to keep this private. I do recommend picking this book up, but have tissues near by! This is another f/f romance as well, and so beautifully done (but I can't speak on the rep of this novel).

 

 

 


Air Awakens by Elise Kova

Goodreads: here

Air Awakens was a book that, again, surprised me. I picked it up after seeing a friend recommend it frequently over on Instagram. I'm so glad I did. The cast is delightfully diverse and the storyline is equally as brilliant.

Though, my only compliant is the ending is a tad unsatisfactory. I was a tad frustrated with it and I got tired of the relationship drama that was present throughout.

 

 


Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

Goodreads: here

This is, again, a book I shout from the rooftops. Every time I see someone ask for something "similar" to Everything, Everything I recommend this. Now, this is nothing like Everything, Everything but it is similar. Under Rose-Tainted Skies doesn't include all the icky problematic stuff though, a clear benefit. It's also completely absent of "love cures your mental health" and my heart skipped a beat. The parental figure is delightfully excellent as well!

 

 


A List of Cages by Robin Roe

Goodreads: here

I don't see A List of Cages being read much, but it needs to. This book features minimal romance and is instead a completely heartbreaking story. I stayed up late reading it, which is rare because I have a self appointed bed time, and finished around 1am. I was destroyed. This is definitely another book where you will need the tissues.

 

 

 


 

Goodreads: here

I recommend Poison Study to people who liked Throne of Glass. Or if you think Sarah J Maas has an incredible lack of diversity in her writing (she does) this is the book for you. I've only read this and the second book but wow. A book beyond its time, that's for sure.

 

 

 

 


So, there are a few of the books that I believe are underrated. You may disagree and that's fine, but these are the books I instantly mention whenever someone comes to me for a recommendation.

What's a book you think is underrated?

10 thoughts on “Underrated Books

  1. I love the Poison Study series – all 8 billion stories in that extended world.
    I recommend The Sons of Thestian, which is book 1 in The Hartmatia Cycle. It’s fantastic! And a whole bunch of Aussie authors (Melina Marchetta, Garth Nix, Kate Forsyth, Sara Douglass, Jay Kristoff… basically anything by them!!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

