The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie | Review

Rating: ★★★★☆

Release Date: February 8th, 2016

Pages: 273

Goodreads Review: here

Goodreads blurb:

Cas has fought pirates her entire life. But can she survive living among them?

For Cassandra Leung, bossing around sea monsters is just the family business. She’s been a Reckoner trainer-in-training ever since she could walk, raising the genetically-engineered beasts to defend ships as they cross the pirate-infested NeoPacific. But when the pirate queen Santa Elena swoops in on Cas’s first solo mission and snatches her from the bloodstained decks, Cas’s dream of being a full-time trainer seems dead in the water.

There’s no time to mourn. Waiting for her on the pirate ship is an unhatched Reckoner pup. Santa Elena wants to take back the seas with a monster of her own, and she needs a proper trainer to do it. She orders Cas to raise the pup, make sure he imprints on her ship, and, when the time comes, teach him to fight for the pirates. If Cas fails, her blood will be the next to paint the sea.


 

R A M B L E

I went into The Abyss Surrounds Us with low expectations. It’s not a very popular book, but it had suddenly been making the rounds on my Goodreads account and I just had to know why no one had rated this book under four stars.

I now know.

The Abyss Surrounds Us is a tale unlike any other I have read. That may be because I’m not a fan of sea monsters or pirates usually, but this book does it so fantastically I simply enjoyed my precious opinions. The f/f romance in this was beautiful as well. I am now completely on board with the Cas and Swift OTP. Someone get me a ship and I’ll name it after them.

I just have a lot of feelings about this book and all are good. My only point of “eh, could have done without” was during the action scenes. I would get a tad confused in some parts.


P L O T

Going in, I knew nothing about the plot apart from there would be some lesbian pirates. When I read the first chapter a few months ago and put the book down, I thought Cas was the pirate and there was going to be some Kraken like creatures throughout.

I was very wrong it seems. That is not at all what the plot of this book was. And I was so happy. I was pleasantly surprised and definitely happy as we follow Cassandra who has trained Reckoners her whole life. I’m a bit unsure of what they look like still, at no fault of the author. I believe the ones in this book look like turtles? Could be completely wrong though.

The plot was packed with adventure and action, in a way that would leave you desperately wanting more. The romance does not take over the story in anyway but you are still left with giggly feelings when sparks fly between the main characters. The enemies to lovers trope is done so well, with flirting and banter that make you feel so warm inside.

I’m getting gushy, I know, but I just adore Swift and Cas. I can’t wait to see where their story goes!


C H A R A C T E R S

#C A S S A N D R A

You know how a while ago there were those things that were like “looks like a cinnamon roll but will kill you”? Well, Cassandra is a cinnamon role who will kill you. She comes across as kind-hearted and soft, but oh my God. That girl is kick ass.

The character development that the author uses for Cas is incredible. Following her particular growth is amazing. Honestly, I am speechless by how flawlessly the author achieves this. It is completely captivating in a way that you simply need to know what she does next.

Her decision at the end of the novel shocked me and the revelations that came out? Someone hand me the next book now. I seriously can’t wait to finish the four other books I need to so I can jump straight back into this world.

#S W I F T

So, if Cassandra is “looks like a cinnamon roll but will you kill you”, Swift is the exact opposite. Which I believe is “looks like they will kill you but is a cinnamon roll”? I clearly missed that trend. Swift was a character I was momentarily scared of. For some reason, she also reminded me of Theon Greyjoy’s sister on Game of Thrones. That could be because I’ve been binging Game of Thrones for two months now in order to catch up (two episodes left!).

Finding out Swift’s story broke my heart. It isn’t unusual for that to happen to me. My friends all say I’m really soft (I just have a lot of feelings, I’m sorry) but really, I loved Swift. She was overall a morally grey character that I was rooting for. Something that I don’t usually do.


O V E R A L L

Overall, this enemy to lovers story is great. I was so unable to put it down to even think of anything else. I am so glad this hidden gem was floating around Goodreads.

highly recommend.

On a note that isn’t this particular book related, I am having the best reading month.

5 thoughts on “The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie | Review

  1. Yayyy I love this book and I’m so glad you liked it, too! Everything from the character development to the original concept to the enemies to lovers arc is soooo well done 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment